2018 National Indopac Championship!

{ on Jul13 2018 | in: Community | Feature | Sports }

This past weekend was the 32nd Annual IndoHoops Canada National Tournament at BC Prep in Surrey, British Columbia. This year’s tournament featured 5 Elite Division teams, 10 Community Division teams and a Women’s Showcase Game. This would not have been possible without our tournament sponsors Telus, Diamonds by Dal, Sports Unlimited and Northern Lights Studio who assisted in welcoming players from British Columbia, California, Washington State and Toronto.

The 2018 tournament consisted of over 60 current and past college/university players. The Men’s Elite Division will feature 5 players who recently played in the NCAA. Jash Kahlon is currently at San Francisco State University and Jaden Narwal is at New York University. Manroop Clair returns from Seattle University to lead the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds and Sukhjot Bains returns from the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay to lead the University of Fraser Valley Cascades this Fall. The Elite final was between Gillson Trucking and Rapid Motors. Gillson Trucking rostered local University of the Fraser Valley Cascades’: Vick Toor, Joban Pandher and Jordyn Sekhon. Gillson Trucking went undefeated going into the finals, but it was the finals where they were defeated. Rapid Motors guard, Manroop Clair was too much for Gillson Trucking with his 16 points. Vick Toor for Gillson Trucking had 17 points. The final score was Rapid Motors 56 to Gillson Trucking 54.


All-Star Team Elite Division: Vick Toor (Gillson Trucking)

The Community Division hosted two teams from Abbotsford: Westcoast and Eagles. In semi-final #1, Westcoast defeated 3rd ranked TBA by a score of 56 to 47. Locals Hardeep Braich (Abbotsford Secondary graduate) and Dylan Kular (W.J. Mouat Secondary graduate) led scoring with 21 and 12. In semi-final #2, the Eagles dismantled Sleep Well by a score of 48-28. Local Manraj Benipal (Rick Hansen Secondary graduate) led all scorers with 11 points. The final was the Battle of Abby – between Westcoast and the Eagles. Both teams are great friends off the court, but on the court they are competitors. The final was a spectacle, going down to a last shot to either win or lose the game. Westcoast started slow, starting the game being down 12-4. After minor adjustments, Westcoast took a 18-14 lead and did not look back. The Eagles made strong pushes throughout the game, but Westcoast was able to mitigate the storm with their solid defense and execution on offense. Eagles had an opportunity to win the game at the buzzer, but missed the game winning shot! Westcoast won 56 to 54. The leading scorers for Westcoast were Hardeep Braich (11 points) and Dylan Kular (11 points). The leading scorers for Eagles were Raj Grewal (Robert Bateman Secondary graduate) with 13 points and Manraj Benipal with 11 points. Both teams showed a lot of heart, both were easily the top two teams in the Community Division and represented Abbotsford well at the National Tournament.


Community Builder Award: Virinder Braich (Westcoast) – newly appointed Vice-Principal at Rick Hansen Secondary School – article to be released July 20th – exclusively here at the Punjabi Patrika

MVP Community Division: Hardeep Braich

All-Star Team Community Division: Manraj Benipal (Eagles), Raj Grewal (Eagles), Josh Dhillon (Westcoast)

Defensive Player of the Tournament: Maninder Singh Gill (Westcoast)



Stay up to date with the latest from The Patrika


Copyright © 2023 Patrika

Get updates
via Email

The Patrika-Bridging Communities